Praying for My Bully.

g213010_u59398_bridgesKind of crazy, huh? An adult bully.

My mom said to pray for her. But you know moms. They are so sweet and cute and well their advice is great, but I didn’t want to take it. “That’s cute mom, okay yeah. I’ll pray for her.”

I didn’t really mean it. After all, she said some pretty awful things. Not just her, others too. But she made it personal and wrote me messages. She kept badgering others too, and I wanted to make her pay. She deserved to be told what was up, you know?

God loves to show me how to live like I know Him and His son, so not too much later after I was huffing and puffing, Cealy and Rosalie said they wanted me to read their favorite book. “You know, Mommy, the girl I want to play with in Heaven?” Oh yes, Ruby Bridges. So I grabbed the book and here lies the most amazing, brave, loving, daughter of God, Ruby Bridges. And heck, if this sweet 6-year-old can endure the hate she did and pray for those who were beyond awful to her, I have no choice. So I sat and prayed. And what do you know? I truly want happiness for this woman. God is so good.

And just because I love to make you cry, here is the prayer Ruby prayed over those who were spitting on her while she walked into school for the first time: Please god, forgive these people because even if they say those mean things they don’t know what they’re doing. So you can forgive them just like you did those folks along time ago when they said terrible things about you.” Oh my heart, I want to play in Heaven with you too, Ruby. (Note: Ruby is still alive, but we figured we wouldn’t meet her until Heaven).

Leave a comment