Giving Up Facebook for Lent.

So I gave up Facebook for Lent, who cares?! I knew it would be a big deal. I didn’t make that known to people around me though. I mean come on? What sort of person wants to act like facebook is a priority in his or her life? Not me. So I acted like, you know I’m just giving up Facebook for 40 days, it’s totally no big deal.

It was a big deal. Well for one, I found out through other people, my sister was moving. Well I knew she was moving, but I didn’t know the date. She was moving from Switzerland to Verona. She told me it was coming up, but when a friend mentioned her moving in 3 short days….I felt like I was missing out. The adoption world needed me didn’t they? I was answering questions for people who just came home. I was asking my own questions. It was necessary. Right? And I wasn’t on facebook that much was I?

Yikes, I had a lot of free time. Why you ask? You have 5 kids. Because when they were watching their morning cartoon, I had to check up on what my 600+ friends were doing, not to mention that 15 of the 600 were my people. Why do I care what vacation Judy Moody is on when I saw her last in 7th grade? It was important. I had to know. In this free time, the Bible became my facebook. I started reading every morning, and even writing down verses that would help my character. I really need to read the Bible everyday. I am someone who needs to read a chapter several times, before I am enlightened with any material. Plus, starting my day with the Bible puts life in to perspective. Reading about Jesus’ life can really benefit me, reading about Judy Moody’s? Not so much.

I learned some good lessons. One, I am on facebook way too often. I never thought I was. I liked to look at others, like my husband and call out his phone issues, but I never really looked at mine. Awhile back, my husband and I were watching a Dateline episode. Our jam is Friday night Dateline. We set the fun bar high, friends. Well anyway, the person murdered was a mother, wife, friend, and computer nut. One of her favorite things to do in the last year that she died was play in an imaginary world on a computer. Let’s just fast forward to me with my jaw dropped when her child said she was on the computer all day in this imaginary world. My heart hurt for her kids, not to mention the complete wierdo I made her out to be. Who likes imaginary worlds? I can’t handle. But facebook is an imaginary world. I don’t have to build a castle and make up a fake name, but I don’t want everyone to know that my minivan broke down at the hospital and my kids were running around the parking lot while I was trying to find out how in the world to pop the hood! (I never found the button anyway, I had to ask a man walking by.) Or that I lost Sebastian at the pool and panicked like holding my chest panicked, and he was just sitting in the corner cackling while I had tears falling down my cheeks. Or that sometimes life is really messy and really hard, and I would take being a cashier at my local Super Market, over staying at home all day.

So in two short days, I’ll be back! I am not putting facebook back on my phone, no applause needed. If I’m away from my house, I’ll work on giving attention to those I am with. I do care what people are going through. I do care if someone is experiencing lows and needs a written letter or a phone call. I love and I mean love being connected because I am an extrovert. I love seeing the great things God has done in people’s lives. It is certainly not all bad, but not worth the time I was allotting.

Leave a comment