Their Bibles.

FullSizeRender-1I finished the Bible. It only took me 33 years (insert face with mouth wide open in embarrassment). My sisters call me Tigger, you know the jumping, crazy, always annoying somebody Tiger on Winnie the Pooh? I guess I jump from one conversation, chore, or activity to the next without warning. I see this as normal and mostly exciting. They see this as unrealistic, unorganized, and talking in a circle type people. So picture me reading the Bible. Yes, I was all over the place. I made sure to star the chapters I finished. I reread some of the chapters a lot. Luke, Matthew, Daniel, John, and some others. I really want to understand Jesus better. I really want to know Him, so reading the New Testament is very interesting and self-motivating for me.

So I follow an amazing chick on instagram. She bought her daughter a Bible to give to her on her 18th birthday. Follow me? So what do you do until then? You ready your daughter’s Bible and write her notes that she can read when she finally sits down to read a page or two. And it might this daughter of yours 33 years, like it did me. But how cool is that? You have hand written notes from your mama in your Bible. My kids love when I tell them stories about my childhood. Better yet, their favorite ones are when I am in trouble. Their eyes get all big, their sneaky smiles take over their face, and they ask question after question. “What did Marm (their grandmother) do when you had a bad attitude? Why did you hit Keke (their aunt)? Papa (their grandfather) told you not to wear that skirt and you did anyway?!? You lied to Marm and she chased you up the stairs?” They LOVE me in trouble. I have a lot more to share with them as they age. To say I messed up many times is an understatement. My friends are grinning big time right now. I mess up all the time, and sharing my mess may help them one day.

I was always planning on rereading the Bible again anyway.  I’m one of those people that will tell you I haven’t read a book, and my mom will follow it up with, “Yes, you certainly have.” I.have.short.term.memory. I must read the Bible over and over to really understand the most important book of all time. Now, I get to read my daughters’ and share with them some life lessons. Loving this gift.

Leave a comment